How to Disable Read Receipts in Signal

How to Disable Read Receipts in Signal

Are you one of the many people who have recently switched to Signal as their primary instant messaging platform? If so, you might find it difficult to get all the available privacy settings, like turning off read receipts for example.

Almost all messaging services these days offer the read receipt feature which allows you to easily check when the texts you sent have been read by the recipient. However, the steps to access these settings vary from platform to platform and that is exactly why we decided to cover it for Signal. If you are from Messages or WhatsApp, the following procedure might look similar. Whether you’re using Signal on iPhone, iPad, Mac, or Windows, you can turn read receipts on or off.

How to turn off and turn on read receipts in Signal

Signal’s read receipt feature can be found under the app’s privacy settings. If you are unable to locate the privacy section, simply follow the steps below:

  1. Launching the Signal app will take you to the chats section by default. Here, tap on your profile icon located at the top left corner of the screen.

    How to turn off read receipts in Signal

  2. This will take you to the app settings menu. Now select “Privacy” located just above the notifications as shown in the screenshot below.

    How to turn off read receipts in Signal

  3. In this menu you will find the Read receipts setting at the top. Just tap the toggle once to turn off this feature for your Signal account.

    How to turn off read receipts in Signal

Here. You will no longer share read receipts with other users.

From now on, you can be sneaky and pretend never to read some of your incoming text messages. However, note that you will also not be able to view read receipts for messages you have sent. It works both ways, like WhatsApp. Therefore, the recipient will be able to easily determine if you have disabled this feature, especially if they have enabled it. Unfortunately, you can’t turn off this feature for a specific contact, unlike on iMessages for iPhone and iPad where you can selectively turn read receipts per contact on and off (and of course, you can turn read receipts on or off for everyone in Messages to).

Of course, to turn read receipts back on, just repeat the above steps again, but turn on the read receipts feature instead.

In addition to read receipts, there is also an input indicator feature that can be turned off for more privacy. As the name suggests, the function notifies the recipient as soon as you start typing a message. Message Disappearance is yet another privacy-focused feature which, if enabled, automatically deletes sent and received messages after a set amount of time.

We hope you have been able to take full advantage of the message privacy features offered by Signal. Let us know your thoughts or experiences with Signal and read the acknowledgments in the comments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *