WhatsApp has updated its question and answer page with an explanation of what will happen to the app if the user does not agree to the new terms of service. According to the company, starting May 15, if you don’t agree to the updated messaging app terms and conditions, you’ll lose the ability to send or receive messages on WhatsApp.
- Initial date in February was postponed after user doubts
- Those who do not agree to the terms will only be able to receive calls and notifications
According to WhatsApp, those who do not accept the new rules will not lose full access to the app or personal account, but will only be able to receive calls and alerts. The page explains that even these functions will be available “for a short time”, suggesting that in the future they may be disabled.
Love it or leave it
Already one of the most popular uses of the service – the exchange of messages, images and audio – will be disabled, both for sending and receiving.
As an alternative for those who do not agree with the new privacy rules, the service reminds that it is possible to export the conversation history to Android and iPhone. Users more concerned about privacy can delete the account, but the company warns that the action not only deletes messages and group membership, but also involves removing backups.
Another action by WhatsApp to allay user doubts is a new notification which, according to the WABetaInfo website, is being distributed by the app in some countries.
WhatsApp starts showing in-app Terms of Service alert! pic.twitter.com/YIscMBjeoq
– WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo)
February 19, 2021
The message reminds that the company (or Facebook) does not have access to the content of the messages and that the new conditions mainly concern the functionalities of communication with companies hosted by Facebook or the provision of integrated services. The WhatsApp Terms of Service and Privacy can be read in full on this page. It bears repeating that the new rules come into effect on May 15.